These Republicans are expected to serve on committees to investigate COVID-19, which is a ‘weaponization’ program of the government

House Speaker Kevin McCarthy(R-Calif.) has announced the names of Republicans who will be serving on two subcommittees, as part of the GOP’s pledge to initiate probes of Biden’s administration. Biden administration.

McCarthy in tweets on Tuesday, announced the GOP participation of two special subcommittees regarding”the “Weaponization of the Federal Government” and the genesis of the COVID-19 epidemic.

These Republicans are expected to serve on committees to investigate COVID-19, which is a 'weaponization' program of the government

The House approved on parties to create the committee on weaponization earlier this month to investigate ongoing investigations by the Department of Justice. The subcommittee was a part of an listing of requests from hard-line GOP House members made to McCarthy to secure their votes for the position of Speaker.

McCarthy then promised to set up both COVID-19 and weaponization subcommittees, just a few days prior to the vote by the Speaker. Republicans have said that the subcommittee on weaponization is “Church-style,” referring to the Senate select committee headed by former Sen. Frank Church (D-Idaho) which looked into the intelligence agencies.

McCarthy stated in a letter to Republican co-workers that his subcommittee will uncover the “weaponization of our government against us, writ large.”

The subcommittee is headed by Rep. Jim Jordan(R-Ohio) who was a strong advocate of McCarthy in his bid for Speaker and is chair of the House Judiciary Committee. McCarthy stated earlier this month that Jordan will chair the subcommittee.

There are also GOP participants in the committee are Reps. Darrell Issa (Calif.), Thomas Massie (Ky.), Chris Stewart (Utah), Elise Stefanik (N.Y.), Mike Johnson (La. ), Chip Roy(Texas), Kelly Armstrong (N.D.), Greg Steube(Fla.), Dan Bishop (N.C.), Kat Cammack (Fla.) and Harriet Hageman (Wyo. ).

Roy and Bishop were unable to support McCarthy for more than 10 votes in the Speaker’s vote, but then switched to support him following the time McCarthy accepted additional concessions.

McCarthy earlier declared this Monday that Steube will be a member of the subcommittee on weaponization after his hospitalization for falling off a ladder that was 25 feet high and suffering numerous “severe” wounds.

Steube was discharged in the emergency room on the weekend however, Steube said that he’ll have to be “sidelined” by Washington, D.C., at residence located in Sarasota, Fla., for a period of time. He stated that he’s “eager” to return to the rest of his team at D.C. “as as soon as it is feasible.”

The subcommittee will also comprise the five Democratic members.

Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio) is the chairman of COVID-19 committee.

The remaining members who make up the GOP group include Reps. Nicole Malliotakis (N.Y.), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (Iowa), Debbie Lesko (Ariz.), Michael Cloud (Texas), John Joyce (Pa.), Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.), Ronny Jackson (Texas) and Rich McCormick (Ga.).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here